a sonic painting by The Ephemeral Man

1 The Ephemeral Man – Haze
2 The Tape Beatles – Listen To The Radio
3 Nujumi – Tears
4 Andy Falconer – Bare Foot v2
5 The Ephemeral Man – The Forest (hello)
6 anrimeal – Hello And A Half (feat. Butterfly Child)
7 Steve Moore + Bluetech – Cosmic Shores
8 Polypores – Exploratory Networks
9 Kemper Norton –  heva
10 The Ephemeral Man – Faze
11 Dohnavùr – New Objectivity
12 Hattie Cooke – Don’t Wanna Talk
13 Enclosed & Silent Order – Seraph

Wyrd Daze recommends:

Sublime sonic rumblings from the Hypostatic Union label, who are sadly mourning the recent loss of veteran recording engineer, composer and producer John Hannon (Liberez / Woe / Understand / NO Recording Studio)

First up the transcendant Seraph EP by Enclosed & Silent Order (Stafford Glover & John Hannon)

The Hypnostatic Union website highlights a forthcoming posthumous solo album from John Hannon as well as a second full album from Enclosed & Silent Order slated for early ’22, so keep an ear out for those.

To be released by Hypnostatic Union on June 1st is the new solo full-length from Dead Rat Orchestra mainstay Daniel Merrill – a UK musician / producer now based in Cairo, Egypt – under his new guise, Nujumi. A significant departure from his work with Dead Rat Orchestra, the album, Bayt Clarke, brings minimalist electronica in the vein of Kraftwerk, Subotnik and Riley, juxtaposed with neo-romantic string orchestras. The new approach came very much as a result of his situation in Egypt, and the various opportunities and barriers encountered. As Daniel explains:

“Having constructed a studio in an semi-legal rooftop shack in Tagamoa, I set about building a new sonic architecture, where the process of composing and recording were thoroughly entwined. Returning to my teenage love of minimalist synthesis techniques, combined with my interpretation of Egyptian and Nubian drum patterns and technique, threaded together with my enduring passion for string orchestration.”

Hypostatic Union is a label in the east of England, making small releases from artists working in the fields of noise, ambient, grind and other sonic forms that challenge, provoke or invoke. Formed in 2019 by long-serving Extreme Noise Terror bassist Stafford Glover to release his own experimental projects, the label now aims to become part test-bed / petri-dish for new work and sometime chronicle of a loose collective of musicians linked by historical association and geographic locale.

Hypnostatic Union Bandcamp